South Dakota Republican Party Celebrates Rock Solid Leadership

June 29th, 2016

South Dakota Republican Party Celebrates Rock Solid Leadership

Pierre - The South Dakota Republican Party held its 2016 South Dakota Republican State Convention in Aberdeen Friday and Saturday. The Convention theme, “Rock Solid Leadership”, paid tribute to the elected officials, party officers, community leaders, and Republican volunteers that work hard to make South Dakota great.

During the two-day convention, South Dakota Republicans unanimously nominated Chris Nelson to continue to represent the GOP in the race for Public Utilities Commissioner this fall. Republican delegates elected Ried Holien of Watertown and re-elected Sandye Kading of Rapid City to serve as State Committeeman and Committeewoman. The Friday evening banquet featured remarks from Governor Dennis Daugaard, Representative Kristi Noem, Senator Mike Rounds, and Senator John Thune.

Pam Roberts, Chair of the South Dakota Republican Party said, "I am proud of the rock solid leadership exemplified by our Republican elected officials”. “We are confident that Senator Thune, Congresswoman Noem, and Commissioner Nelson will be re-elected in November”, she said.

In addition to the elections and the Friday evening banquet, the South Dakota Republican Party adopted a resolution to oppose three ballot measures dealing with campaigns and elections this fall. The Resolution specifically opposed Amendment V, Amendment T, and Initiated Measure 22.

Ryan Budmayr, Executive Director of the Party said, “There is absolutely no good reason for giving voters less information at ballot box and providing less transparency”. “Don’t let anyone fool you, Amendment V is bad policy led by Democrats to change the way we do things in South Dakota and make our process more like California”, he said.
For questions or additional information, please contact the South Dakota Republican Party at (605) 777.0467 or email Ryan at