Lederman names Platform Committee for 2018 South Dakota Republican State Convention

June 8th, 2018

Lederman names Platform Committee for 2018 South Dakota Republican State Convention


South Dakota Republican Party Chairman Dan Lederman announced today that he has chosen a select group of South Dakota Republicans to serve on the platform committee for the upcoming 2018 convention for the state Republican Party.


“As compared to conventions of the past, people will find we’ve named a small, conservative committee. They’re dedicated to preserving the values of the Republican Party. After a brisk hearing process in the field and at the convention, the group will present the platform planks to the assembled convention as a whole,” Lederman said.


The Republican State Convention’s Platform Committee will be chaired by Speaker Pro Tempore of the South Dakota House Steve Haugaard and includes:


State Representative Steve Haugaard (Sioux Falls, SD) – Chair

State Senator John Wiik (Big Stone City, SD)

State Senator Phil Jensen (Rapid City, SD)

State Rep. Lynn DiSanto (Box Elder, SD)
Dale Bartscher (Rapid City, SD)

Anne Beal (Colman, SD)

Matt Bruner (Winifred, SD)

Sara Timothy (Sioux Falls, SD)

Marilyn Oakes (Keystone, SD)


Pre-convention platform meetings will be held in Rapid City (June 16, 8am - 10am, 429 Kansas City Street, Suite 4, Rapid City), Aberdeen (June 16, 6pm - 8pm, Millstone Restaurant, 2210 6th Avenue SE, Aberdeen), and in Sioux Falls (June 18, 6pm - 8pm, 1601 East 69th Street, 3rd Floor Conf Rm, Sioux Falls). Final meetings will be held at the state’s largest gathering of Republicans at the GOP Convention in Pierre from June 20th through the 23rd at the Ramkota River Center.


As part of the convention proceedings, the State Republican Party will also complete its slate of candidates for the November election, including nominees for Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Commissioner of School & Public Lands and Public Utilities Commission.